Who’s to say we’ll end up okay?

When I watch TV, it’s because I know that in the end, it’ll all be alright. Things will work out, returning back to a comfortable and level state of being. Life back to normal.

I know, for a fact, too many people bring this mindset into their own lives. 

“It’ll all work out in the end,” 

“Just let life run its course” 

“You’ll get what you deserve.” 

“Let God work his will.”

We tell ourselves this everyday in hope that the shitty aspects of our lives will somehow magically turn around, as if some higher power above is just sitting around and waiting, counting the pounds of shit he throws on us until we’ve hit what we’ve deserved, then rewarding us with happiness.

Happiness is not something that you come across on the street. Happiness is something you work for.

I spent a lot of time waiting. Waiting for friends to make friends with me. Waiting for friends to call me. Waiting to stop being sad. Waiting for success. Waiting to be happy. Waiting to wait.

I finally got pretty fucking tired of waiting.

It was with the help of a lot of people that I realize my own happiness is something I control, and I don’t mean by medication (self or pharmaceutical). It can be as large a scope as how I plan my life, making sure to exercise or to do activities that are both productive and fun, or as small as learning to see the best of situations

Because sometimes the best things can come from the worst situations.

Even such a small, cliche piece of advice can be life changing. The difference I’ve seen in my life since I’ve stopped allowing small, stupid things from keeping me down is incredible.

A lot of plans that have been ruined have ended up being the best experiences in my life.

Sometimes finding happiness is as simple as not trying to control the flow. Sometimes happiness is just about letting life show you what it’s about.

So your night out with your friends didn’t work out as planned? Didn’t get to that party you wanted to go to? Are you sure just spending the night with them wasn’t actually more fun? I mean, that’s what it’s all about, spending time with friends. Sometimes it’s the walk to the party that’s better than the party itself.

But life planning is still important. You’ve probably read it in every self help article ever. Although not taking life too serious can help aid happiness, completely not being a conscious participant in your life will also lead you away from happiness.

You don’t want to be a piece of plankton floating around the ocean. Direction is key. Activities are key.

Exercise is amazing. I’m not just talking about physical exercise, which does release endorphins as well as help regulate your sleep patterns and boost your physical health. I’m talking about mental exercise.

Stimulating your brain is just as important as stimulating your muscles.

If you’re not doing anything with your grey matter and you’re feeling down, try using that wrinkly old sponge up there. Read a book. Find a hobby. Write a book. Try a new recipe. Find a topic you enjoy and research it.

And responsibility, while it can be stressful, is also be an unequivocally rewarding experience. There is no feeling like well deserved pride.

At this point, I sound annoying and preachy, but if you’ve gotten this far in the article, it must mean I’ve done something right. And reading to the end is the first step is doing something more than just sitting there and looking out the window.

So take what you will from this. Maybe you’ll find a piece of advice or inspiration and take it to heart. Maybe you’ll just sit there and tear it apart. Really, it’s whatever makes you happy.

Leave a Reply

